PWA Administration within Office 365

There are two different adjusting screws to administer the project web app:
1) Within the respective instance you can change the site settings and pwa settings for a single site or site collection (if the prerequisites in Office 365 are done).
2) In the SharePoint Admin Center you can not only create and delete site collections, several PWA options in Project Online are also transferred to Office 365. Sounds a little bit like it was done in the Central Administration with an on-premise system, right? However, among other things in the SharePoint Admin Center you can change the permission mode, define quotas and control who’s able to see and edit the site collection settings in the PWA.


To access the PWA options within the Office 365 Admin Center, select SharePoint. You should be a global administrator, or at least a SharePoint administrator to be able to do that.

SharePoint Admin CenterThe navigation bar with all the options you need looks like this:

navigation bar

Create a new PWA

To create a new PWA, click on new and select ‘Private Site Collection with Project Web App’. A window pops-up where you can define some basic settings:

PWA Creation Window

It is pretty straight forward, which entries need to be done, but the field ‘Administrator’ should be mentioned here. With it, you define who will be the primary administrator of the PWA, which has full access to the site collection administration settings. You are also able to assign the default group ‘Administrators’ within the PWA (not in Office 365), but if the respective person is not selected in the Office 365 settings, he/she will only have restricted administration permissions. Initially, you also need to select a storage quota, which can be changed afterwards. The provisioning of a PWA will take up to 15 minutes… be patient.

Delete an existing PWA

Super easy, just select the respective instance and click on delete. Also note the comments below in the section ‘recycle bin’.

Properties

There’s nothing to edit here. Still you get an overview about the different settings of an existing PWA.

Owners

Within this section, you can edit the primary and ‘normal’ site collection administrators. These are the only users who can receive e-mail notifications for events, like the site collection reached a quota, etc. As mentioned above, only the entered users are able to access the site collection administration within the PWA.
Second option is to add a support partner to perform delegated administration. There are two roles available, Help Desk Admins (read-only) or Tenant Admins (full-access).

Sharing

The ribbon ‘Sharing’ allows you to configure the sharing abilities for your users. If this option is disabled on a tenant level (tenant administration -> external sharing), you will receive a message in the selection menu. The following options are possible on a site collection level:

sharingStorage Quota / Buy Storage / Server Resource Quota

Here you can check the current tenant storage and change the limit of it:

storage quotaWhatsover, the purchase process for more storage is easy 😉 With a click on the respective button, you’ll get to the subscription page.

Server resources can be managed per site collection. It is not necessary to enter any quotas here, unless you’re working with sandboxes.

Upgrade

If there are future versions (e.g. 2016) are available, each site collection can be upgraded individually. Note that there are no rollback features in place.

Project Web App

To change the permission mode, select your PWA in the list and click on ‘Project Web App’. This can only be done in the SharePoint Admin Center and not within the PWA settings!

permission modeTo get more information about the two options, click on this link. If you want to be fully flexible, I would recommend the ‘Project Permission Mode’.

Public Websites

To rename your URL, you need to have a custom domain in place. There are dozens of domain provider in place, but GoDaddy is fully integrated with Microsoft. However, this is beyond the scope of this article.

Restore

Within the recycle bin, you can find and restore deleted content like lists, sites and even site collection. After a grace period of 30 days the data will be deleted permanently.

 

 

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *